QAT icons are not monochrome when MetroLightRoyal is used

Ribbon for WPF Forum

Posted 8 years ago by Stefan Koell
Version: 16.1.0633

Hi,

I studied the docs and according to the help file the conversion to monochrome icon is performed automatically. In my case the color icon is added to the QAT. Do I need to do something to make this work? Btw, I'm not assigning a PNG to the icon, I'm using a vector icon (converted from SVG to XAML). Could this be the issue?

Thanks,

Stefan

Comments (4)

Posted 8 years ago by Actipro Software Support - Cleveland, OH, USA

Hi Stefan,

That is correct, it will only alter BitmapSource (raster) images or BitmapSource image portions that are nested in DrawingVisuals.  The latter allows you to have a raster image for say a highlight pen and then use a vector portion to render the actual pen color.  When that converts to monochrome, the highlight pen raster image portion will be pure white but the pen color will still show through for the vector portion.

We are updating our documentation for the next maintenance release to clarify that it's for BitmapSource images only.

For QAT controls that use vector images, you'd have to supply your own monochrome versions.

If you have any suggestions in this area, please feel free to post them.

Actipro Software Support

Thanks for the clarification. A couple of follow up questions:

Do you have plans to support XAML vector (DrawingImages) as well in the future? Providing monochrome versions for each icon is a huge task. I also noticed that disabled images are not monochrome (regardless if vector or bitmap). In Devexpress I had a workaround using a nuget called GrayscaleEffect (based on a PixelShader):

https://www.nuget.org/packages/GrayscaleEffect/

There's quite some information about the missing grayscale effect for disabled icons in WPF:

https://channel9.msdn.com/Blogs/ContinuumNews/Disable-Buttons-with-a-Grayscale-Effect-in-WPF