SelectedObject and enabling properties

Grids for WPF Forum

Posted 15 years ago by Rick Edwards - UK
Version: 9.1.0500
Hi all,

is it possible to disable a property or several properties of a PropertyGrid.SelectedObject based upon the value of another property (a checkbox or a selected item in a drop down for example)? The selected object is determined at runtime by selecting an object in a tree and setting it as a "SelectedObject" property on the main window ViewModel to which the property grid binds to.

So I guess I need to know

a) what property in the collection has changed at runtime?

and

b) how to find and enable other properties in the collection at runtime?

All selected objects implement INotifyPropertyChanged so I have a feedback mechanism for when a property is changed but I can't work out how to tie this back into other properties in the collection, particularly through XAML data binding.

I'm a complete newbie at WPF so am currently finding my feet and don't even know if this is possible though I suspect it's the sort of thing others might have tried. I've read the forum postings here but think I need to step back a little as I'm not sure I understand them. I'm also not very experienced in developing PropertyGrids in general so any advice good!

Regards

Rick

Rick

Comments (10)

Posted 15 years ago by Actipro Software Support - Cleveland, OH, USA
Hi Rick,

There really isn't a mechanism to disable properties when using SelectedObject(s), but you can make the properties read-only (which is effectively the same thing).

You can do one of several things:

1. Implement ICustomTypeDescriptor on your object. You would then need to dynamically add the ReadOnlyAttribute (initialized to true) to the properties you want "disabled" based on the setting of another property.

If you go this route, then you would also need to manually call PropertyGrid.Refresh for the changes to be picked up.