How to design your interface?

Docking/MDI for WPF Forum

Posted 14 years ago by Kasper
Version: 9.2.0515
I have no WPF experience, but since I'm such an Actipro fan, I knew that if I choose to migrate, I would likely end up using the Actipro WPF suite and thereby the docking controls. So I downloaded the trial and started VS 2008... and then I was kinda lost. The designer support seems non-existing when you come from the WinForms world. I couldn't figure out how to add new Tool windows and areas. After reading the documentation, it seems that you can either load one of the pre-defined layouts or you can start typing your layout in XAML - is that really the WPF way? No dragging and dropping my various Actipro controls around? It seemed like a huge step down, so hopefully I'm just missing something - how do you really design your UI with WPF and the Actipro controls? :)

Comments (4)

Posted 14 years ago by Actipro Software Support - Cleveland, OH, USA
Hi Kasper,

While most of our other WPF controls do have a lot of designer functionality, unfortunately we haven't gotten a chance to implement it for Docking/MDI as of yet. That's something that is on our TODO list. In the meantime you will have to create the docking layout via XAML, which really isn't too hard at all. Just take a look at the documentation on control hierarchy and look at our many samples and that should get you going.

Actipro Software Support

Posted 14 years ago by Kasper