MVVM - Closing Doesn't Remove From DocumentItems

Docking/MDI for WPF Forum

Posted 9 years ago by Justin Klein
Version: 15.1.0623

I just noticed that when using the MVVM pattern for docking windows (aka DocumentItemsSource), while adding to the DocumentItems creates a new tab (as expected), closing a tab does not remove it from DocumentItems.  In other words, as soon as you start closing tabs, the DocumentItems becomes "out-of-sync" with the tabs.  If you were to repeatedly open a document, close its tab, reopen it, close its tab, etc - you would end up with an infinitely-growing list of DocumentItems.

My code came directly from the sample project - I only added the ability to open documents.

I'm pretty new to WPF/MVVM, but is this the intended behavior?  My understanding was that the purpose of binding would be to (in this case) always have the DocumentItems represent the tabs, and vice-versa...

Comments (13)

Posted 9 years ago by Actipro Software Support - Cleveland, OH, USA

Hi Justin,

Yes that is the intended behavior.  The binding doesn't always represent tabs, especially in tool window scenarios since the same tool windows open/close potentially many times over an app lifecycle.  Each docking window has an IsOpen property that tells you whether it is currently visible in the layout (in tabs, etc.).  That being said, when a docking window gets unregistered from the dock site, which happens by default with document windows when they close, the item should be removed from the itemssource.  In the current version, you need to handle the DockSite.WindowUnregistered event and do that manually.