VS Code inline completion feature in SyntaxEditor?

SyntaxEditor for WPF Forum

Posted 5 months ago by Kai Nguyen
Version: 23.1.3

Hi,

I want to achieve something similar in the SyntaxEditor like the VS Code inline completion feature where a ghost text shows up after the text cursor as a code suggestion. Is there any way to achieve this with the SyntaxEditor?

I've read a bit about Adornments and I suspect I might have to tinker with something like the Intraline Adornment. I'm a beginner so the documentation is a bit confusing for me on how to implement that feature so if someone could help out I'd really appreciate it!

[Modified 5 months ago]

Comments (8)

Posted 5 months ago by Actipro Software Support - Cleveland, OH, USA

Hello,

While we haven't made a sample for that as of yet, you'd probably want to use our intra-text adornments feature.  The QuickStart sample in the AdornmentsIntraTextNotes folder of our samples app shows an example of that kind of thing.  It shows how to inject a custom control inline with text that moves as editing occurs around it.

For your scenario, you'd be injecting a TextBlock instead of a button and you'd probably "tag" a zero-length range at the caret offset.  The tag is wrap gets used to trigger an adornment, which is explained in much more detail in the documentation.

The code line to use for making an ITextVersionRange for your scenario (similar to what's in the above sample's MainControl.OnAddNoteButtonClick method) would need be something like the following, since the sample doesn't allow zero-length tags:

var versionRange = new TextSnapshotRange(editor.ActiveView.CurrentSnapshot,
  editor.ActiveView.Selection.CaretOffset).ToVersionRange(TextRangeTrackingModes.DeleteWhenSurrounded);

I hope that helps get you started!

Actipro Software Support

Hi,