IntraLine adornment (like CodeLens)

SyntaxEditor for WPF Forum

Posted 10 years ago by Malcolm Stockham
Version: 14.1.0602

I would like to add some IntraLine adornments to the editor in my application, along the lines of the CodeLens. Where an adornment is inserted between lines of text without affecting the usual editing functions.

Is this something that can be achieved in the current release?  

Many thanks,

Malcolm

Comments (6)

Posted 10 years ago by Actipro Software Support - Cleveland, OH, USA

Hi Malcolm,

Thanks for the suggestion.  We don't currently have that feature but I will mark down the suggestion.  If you have any ideas on what sort of language service interface would be used to provide the additional vertical spacing for the line, please let us know.

Actipro Software Support

Thanks for adding this to the sugestion box - I think it could add some real value to our user experience.

I am still relatively new to the Tagging API, but my initial instinct would be to tag a range or line (in much the same way as IIndicatorTag) which then implements some form of CreateGlyph equivalent which gets inserted between the viewlines.  I'm not sure how this would work if multiple tags implementing such an interface were on the same line - most likely an edge case but theoretically possible - just stack the annotations vertically maybe?

Alternatively, it might tie in nicely with the Outlining interfaces.  The block I would like annotate is already decorated with an IOutliningNodeDefinition.  As I am already generating this from my ParseData all the information I require is to hand when I an adding these nodes.  It would seem likely that an outlined code block is exactly the sort of thing you would want to annotate with some intra line adornment.

[Modified 10 years ago]

Posted 10 years ago by Actipro Software Support - Cleveland, OH, USA

Hi Malcolm,