Implementing JSON Schema validation

SyntaxEditor Web Languages Add-on for WPF Forum

Posted 2 years ago by 10e
Version: 22.1.3

I'm new to SyntaxEditor and read through the documentation and still unsure how to customize the JsonSyntaxLanguage to implement JSON Schema validation similar to how XmlSyntaxLanguage performs DTD validation with XmlValidator and perhaps the XmlSchemaResolver. I couldn't find those counterparts in the JsonSyntaxLanguage, so I assume they are custom only to the XmlSyntaxLanguage implementation?

Comments (2)

Answer - Posted 2 years ago by Actipro Software Support - Cleveland, OH, USA

Hello,

That is correct, we don't have anything at the moment built-in for JSON validation.  As far as I know, JSON validation isn't in .NET and is only in third-party libraries like Newtonsoft's Json.NET, right?

That being said, our syntax languages are fully extensible and you can add this kind of thing if you wish.

In our XML add-on, we override our XmlParser's CreateParseData method and call a Validate method in that, passing it the request and state parameters.  You could do the same kind of thing by making a class that inherits JsonParser, and override CreateParseData to call a Validate method you add, then call the base CreateParseData method.  Unregister our default JsonParser service from the language and register an instance of your custom JsonParser-based class instead.

Here's what our XmlParser.Validate method looks like:

protected virtual void Validate(IParseRequest request, IParserState state) {
	if (request == null)
		throw new ArgumentNullException("request");
	if (state == null)
		throw new ArgumentNullException("state");

if ((request.TextBufferReader != null) && (request.Language != null)) {
		// If there is a validator service on the language...
		IXmlValidator validator = request.Language.GetService<IXmlValidator>();
		if (validator != null) {
			// Validate the XML