Global Theme and Color set by ColorPick

Themes, Shared, and Core Libraries for Avalonia UI Forum

Posted 2 months ago by David Ben Svaiter

Hi!

I'm new to AVALONIA and ActiProSoftware. I have a page which I have successfully changed the theme and colors of all the controls based on the ActiProSoftware's default Themes (Outline, Solid, Soft, ...) and the Variant (Accent, Success, Warning, Danger...).

At the same time, I put there a ColorPicker control to allows users to change the Accent variant. But I'm facing some situations that I cannot solve for myself:

1- How do I save in memory/class the THEME and VARIANT settings to be used for all other controls and pages of my application? I need some kind of BIND, I guess.

2- How do I make the ColorPicker echo the selected color instead the default Accent color, and in all other controls and pages?

Also, I want to save these configurations (along with some other I've already written to disk), allowing the users to customize the appearance of the application. 

Can someone enlighten me on this?

I appreciate any help.

Comments (4)

Posted 2 months ago by Actipro Software Support - Cleveland, OH, USA

Hi David,

For your first question, you'll want to take a look at our Theme Definitions topic:

https://www.actiprosoftware.com/docs/controls/avalonia/themes/theme-definitions

There are several options available that allow you to specify a default theme for different classes of controls.  For example, you can use the EditAppearanceKind property to specify the default theme (Outline/Solid/etc.) for edit controls like TextBox or ComboBox.  For the "Variant" settings (aka semantic color variants), the UseAccentedSwitches property allows you to specify that the accent variant should be used by default for switch controls (radio button/checkbox/toggle switch), but not the success/warning/danger variants.