Newbi question: How should I approach my project?

SyntaxEditor .NET Languages Add-on for Windows Forms Forum

Posted 15 years ago by Nassim Farhat
Hello, I am a beginner with the ActiPro tool with around 1 year of experience in C#. I had a few questions concerning how I should start my project using your tools. I spent the last 2 days reading up on the SyntaxEditor control, dynamic languages, programmatic lexical parsers etc...

Here is my context: I have a language which has already been defined previously (resembles a little BASIC language). I am using the Visual Studio 2008 shell with SDK to create add-ins and VSpackages. This add-in or VSPackage should be a language container for my language, so I will have a tabbed document opened in the IDE of VS2008 where inside I will probably drop the SyntaxEditor control as my language programming container. The compiler has already been created in previous versions of the software, so I guess I won't have to worry about the execution part too much, but nevertheless, I need to give the code a C# like feel and look (collapsing code segments, intelliprompt, color coding, outlining etc...) I saw that your tools give the possibility to do this very nicely.

The Dynamic Language approach examples I saw are pretty basic with color coding only on certain patterns of text entered (like the FTP example in your documentation).

For the advanced programmatic lexical parser, your documentation gives a good example with the "Simple" language that you have developed and given to everyone to use as reference.

I was wondering, should I use the Dynamic Language approach in order to get up and running quickly or should I use the more advanced programmatic lexical parser approach?