Am I Completely Lost?

SyntaxEditor for Windows Forms Forum

Posted 15 years ago by Captain Starbuck
Version: 4.0.0280
I've just found and downloaded SyntaxEditor. The first goal I had for the product was to create a language definition for a non-OO dialect of BASIC. Here is a taste of the syntax:
! Begin the loop   (comments begin with * or ! )
X = 2            ; * Comments at line end preceded by semicolon
FOR N = 1 TO 10  ; * Collapsible block here ends with NEXT
  X = X * (N/2)  ; * Assignment, expressions vary in complexity
  GOSUB SHOW.VALUES ; * Jump to label (note indentation)
NEXT N           ; * Handle like close brace
STOP             ; * Simple keywords
SHOW.VALUES: * Labels denoted with colon, comment may follow
  PRINT N,X      ; * varying delimiters and expressions possible 
RETURN           ; * Handle like close brace to collapse to label
END              ; * optional final token
I have 30 years of coding experience in about 20 different languages and have served as tech editor for some published C# books, so I'm no slouch to coding. But I have to say I'm really lost with SyntaxEditor. I had no idea how complex this sort of work is - or rather, I wouldn't mind the complexity if there were better docs.

I think I just need to understand the process. Where do we start to create a new definition? In the code samples I see editor.Document.LoadLanguageFromXml() imports a <SyntaxLanguage> language definition, which is not the same as a <Grammar> definition.

I'm understanding that the XML files are only one way (dynamic?) of defining a language, where the other way (syntactical) is to define the language in code - and the only example I can find of this is the SimpleSyntaxLanguage, which encapsulates an instance of SimpleLexicalParser. Was that parser generated from the Grammar XML?