Intellisense in memory database

SyntaxEditor for WPF Forum

Posted 15 years ago by svb70
I'm very new to using the syntax editor and have all that I need implemented except full intellisense support.

I can show lists at will and now have come to the point where I need to construct the in-memory database that drives the completionlist population based on caret context. I could not find any help on standard ways of doing this. I have my own idea of how to do it, but don't want to re-invent the wheel if it has already been done.

I saw mention in some thread on here about looking at semanticparser, but couldn't find it in the help file.

So I would be greatful if anyone has experience of implementing this.

I'm interested in the wpf c# add on stuff, but again couldn't find any help on exactly what this gives me. using the add-on exactly what would I need to do to turn c# intellisense on as it is apparently automatic. Many thanks.

Comments (3)

Posted 15 years ago by Actipro Software Support - Cleveland, OH, USA
Thanks for writing. Right now, since SyntaxEditor is in public beta (although it is plenty stable for use and production release), we don't yet have the semantic parsing feature implemented. That is something that is in our WinForms version and will be ported over in the coming weeks. Since we don't have that yet, our .NET Languages Add-on in WPF pretty much does nothing yet other than provide a fast lexical parser. That will also be enhanced in the coming weeks/months.

As for determining context, the best way to do that generally is via token scanning (like with an ITextSnapshotReader) and with examination of an AST, which you need semantic parsing to generate. If you or anyone else would like to throw out ideas on what you'd like to see in terms of these feature areas, please do so now. It's a perfect time to be brainstorming, before we start work on the features.

Actipro Software Support

Posted 15 years ago by svb70