How to set the grammar for the syntax editor control?

SyntaxEditor for Windows Forms Forum

Posted 14 years ago by Light
Version: 4.0.0282
Hi all,

I am very new to actipro syntax editor and I am wondering how to set it if I have a grammar file already?

I quickly checked the help file but it talks about how to create one. But not how to assign it to the syntax editor itself.

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Light

Comments (11)

Ok I sort of found this, but how to I create a grammar file now? I looked at the Simle.Grammar.xml but not sure if it contains code or just the specs to define the grammar?

Any info on this?
I was expecting something like what scite editor where there are fields that define keywords, identifiers, etc and what font to use for each, etc.

Where can I define stuff like these? So I can describe keywords to be highlighted like for, foreach, while, do, then etc?

If I can highlight the code correctly that would be a very good start.

Thanks,
Light
Posted 14 years ago by Actipro Software Support - Cleveland, OH, USA
The syntax highlighting is driven by a lexical parser, which is separate from the grammar. Grammar is used to create a semantic parser, which is something that can be added to your language to generate an AST, etc. later on.

To get started with lexical parsing, please take a look at our C# sample project's Languages\Dynamic\Lexers folder. Those XML files are our dynamic language XML definitions that are free samples of how to achieve highlighting. Some of them have code-behind files that are included in the parent folder. The XML definitions include numerous samples of how to make syntax highlighting for various languages and there is documentation on the format in the help file.