Using SyntaxEditor for an IronPython editor (for scripting)

SyntaxEditor for WPF Forum

Posted 13 years ago by Leon
Hi,

I am new to SyntaxEditor and I want to use it for my 3d app, where I provide IronPython scripting for artists.

I am wondering as of the latest version of this control (preferrably WPF), what is possible and not possible for this scenario?

For instance:

1. Is IronPython provided as a sample language for me to just plug it in?
2. If not, can I use the Python template you have as is (I assume you have Python as a sample language)?
3. Can I have intellisense? For instance (Global.Scene.Objects, etc)
4. Other things you can think of (for possibilities and limitations)?

Thanks a lot for your help.

[Modified at 05/30/2011 02:49 PM]

Comments (4)

Posted 13 years ago by Actipro Software Support - Cleveland, OH, USA
Hi Leon,

Thanks for writing.

1/2) We do offer a Python free sample language but it just does syntax highlighting.

3) You'd have to add that. With our .NET Languages Add-on we have an object model for managing reflection data that you could query. But you still would need a grammar/parser for IronPython that builds up an AST using our .NET Languages Add-on's AST node types, a context factory, and completion/quick info providers that tie all that together with our add-on's resolver to figure out what is what.