How to obtain an AST with expected operator precedence?

SyntaxEditor for WPF Forum

Posted 13 years ago by William Hodgson
Version: 11.1.0545
I am somewhat new to the Actipro Syntax Editor. I was exploring the “Getting Started” examples and noticed that the AST in the "4a - LL(*)" example had an unexpected ordering of the tree nodes for the arithmetic expressions.
Specifically, in the GettingStarted04a example, the AST displayed in the “Document Outline” box does not reflect expected arithmetic operator precedence nor left association. For example, the following code

function Add(a, b, c) {
return a - b + c;
}

results in the following AST (simplified):

-
   / \
  a   +
     / \
    b   c
which orders the computation as if written as “a – (b + c)”.

The AST with expected order of computation would be

+
     / \
    -   c
   / \
  a   b
My questions are
1. Is there a way to modify the grammar so the expected operator precedence is reflected in the AST?
2. Or is there a way to use the tree construction class to modify the AST?

Any help here would be appreciated.

Comments (3)

Posted 13 years ago by Actipro Software Support - Cleveland, OH, USA
Hi William,

I believe it's working out that way since we can't have left recursion in an LL parser.

If additiveExpression was rewritten as:
additiveExpression.Production = expression + ((@addition | @subtraction) + expression).Optional()
Then there would be left recursion on the first non-terminal and the grammar wouldn't compile. There isn't a built-in way to change this around.

You can write custom tree construction classes to do anything to the AST. That's one very nice feature of the grammar, since it is fully extensible. You could write one with logic that say for the additive expression would look at the right expression and if it is additive, rotate the tree so that the first and second terms are put together as an additive expression and then chain on the third, thus making your tree.

Actipro Software Support