A newbie asking for help: Customising Spider

Spider Writer Suggestions and Support Forum

Posted 23 years ago by Paul Christiaan - Netherlands
Hello list,
I'm a newbie- to your list as well as Spider Writer. You seem like a friendly bunch, perhaps you can help me?

I recently moved writing HTML from the Mac to the PC. On the Mac, I used BBedit, so I'm really spoiled. But, truth to tell, this Spider Writer is ABSOLUTELY luxurious.
--Oh yes. I don't work in design mode-it really messes things up-; but I very much like the fast updating of the external Netscape. Neat that!

Ok, what are those questions I need so badly answered:
1) How do I edit the "Edit Tag"list?- there are a few tags there that don't seem right to me- take for instance the IMG tag: while in the syntax.dat "width" is stated as to be written out as " "- it writes the thing out as a plain number. There are a few older browsers that don't like that. I wrote a simple code snippet that puts the number within quotes, but that makes for extra work- plus the thing gets changed back all the time.
There are other matters, like the "TD" tags, which are not right ("middle" should become "center",etc.etc.- to be as universal as possible). Please help!
2) How do I assign a hotkey to code snippets?

If I can work the two above, I am very happy with the program- otherwise I'll have to go back to the Mac for my editing- means working two keyboards at the same time and an AWFUL strain on the elbows, let me tell you :-)

Hope you gentlemen can help me!!

Many thanks in advance, Paul Christiaan

Comments (3)

Posted 23 years ago by Actipro Software Support - Cleveland, OH, USA
Paul,

1) You can use the Syntax Editor application to modify how Spider Writer interprets tags, attributes and almost everything else. Check that out. It's in your programs group for Spider Writer.

2) Right now, we don't have support for hotkeys for code snippets. That's something that could be added in the future though.