Creating an Intelliprompt list of available types

SyntaxEditor for Windows Forms Forum

Posted 19 years ago by Blaise
Hi,

I am brand new to SyntaxEditor (and code parsing in general, for that matter)

My objective is to use SyntaxEditor to provide a VB.NET code editor using ItelliPrompt to behave similar to the way VS7 offers IntelliSense. Ultimately, I want to implement as much statement completion functionality as I can.

But I'm starting small ... :)

So I grabbed the Trigger event handler from the Sample project and started with that (although that seems particularly suited to C#). With a few adjustments, this bought me an IntelliPrompt list when the period key was pressed. Cool!

Now, for VB, I want an IntelliPrompt list of types when the user types "As" or "As New" and then a space character. So I figured I had to add a trigger for the space key to the language definition. I did so like this in the ActiproSoftware.VBDotNet.xml file:

<!-- Triggers -->
    <Triggers>
        <KeyPressTrigger Key="MemberListTrigger" Character=".">
            <KeyPressTriggerValidStates>
                <KeyPressTriggerValidState State="DefaultState" />
            </KeyPressTriggerValidStates>
        </KeyPressTrigger>
        <KeyPressTrigger Key="TypeListTrigger" Character=" ">
            <KeyPressTriggerValidStates>
                <KeyPressTriggerValidState State="DefaultState" />
            </KeyPressTriggerValidStates>
        </KeyPressTrigger>
    </Triggers>
and this seems to work (the Trigger event is raised when the space key is pressed, with a Key of "TypeListTrigger"). But would it be better to define an EditCommand for this?

So, how do I create a list of types ... here's what I'm trying:

First, look backwards to see if we have "As" or "As New"

Case "TypeListTrigger"

'Construct full name of oItem to see if reflection can be used... 
    'iterate backwards through the oToken oStream