How to set form's Default button to the wizard's Next button

Wizard for Windows Forms Forum

Posted 18 years ago by SR
Hi there

I need to use the Wizard control in a mainly non-mouse environment. Please can you advise me when and how to set the wizard's "> Next" button to be the form's default "Enter key" button(AcceptButton?) ? A bit of sample code would be very handy.

I'm also very new to this control and though I'm an experienced VB6 programmer, I'm new to .Net in general : so I'm unclear whether I should use an inherited WizardDialogForm approach, or the wizard control in a form. Sorry if I missed this in the documentation, but any general guidance on 'which approach to use when' would also be greatly appreciated.

Thanks a lot

Scott

Comments (3)

Posted 18 years ago by Actipro Software Support - Cleveland, OH, USA
Hi Scott,

You can set the Wizard.FormAcceptButton property to control the default button. It has several different options that will automatically set the default button for you.

You can use either the standalone Wizard control or a Form that inherits from WizardDialogForm. If your Form will only contain the Wizard and not have any other controls within the Form's bounds (other than controls in the Wizard itself of course), it's probably easiest to inherit WizardDialogForm. The WizardDialogForm class exposes a Wizard property that gives you direct access to the embedded Wizard control.

Actipro Software Support

Posted 18 years ago by SR
OK, thanks for that, although I was rather hoping for a code snippet by way of explanation.

In the spirit of many of your replies to posts by others I thought I'd load the sample app that you distribute with the product to try this out.

So I have noticed that when I run the sample, when pressing Enter after it has loaded causes the web link to fire. But, by way of example, I want the "Next" button to fire instead.

(I'm using VS.Net 2003 and the VB test app btw.)