Deploying a .NET application

SyntaxEditor for Windows Forms Forum

Posted 18 years ago by Kasper
Hi all,

While the subject may lead you to think otherwise, this IS related to the SyntaxEditor :). My application is not yet finished, but it's so far ahead that I'm thinking about how I can distribute it. I have no experience in this area with .NET, and it seems like it might be a bit more complicated than in the good old Delphi days :P. I am of course using some 3rd party controls, including all the ones made by Actripro software, but how exactly do I deploy my application? If I set Visual Studio to "Release", it does generate some DLL's, and as I would expect, they are less than 1 mb when zipped. However, no DLL's for Actipro controls are included, and when I try to run my application on another machine, I get an exception. I can see that "Copy Local" are set to false for Actipro references as well as references to other 3rd party controls - should this be changed? If I do, my release directory gets a lot heavier, but I guess that's normal. So please enlighten me here - how should this be done, in general of course, but also specifically about the Actipro controls :)

Kasper

[Modified at 06/02/2006 06:21 PM]

Comments (5)

Posted 18 years ago by Actipro Software Support - Cleveland, OH, USA
Hi Kasper,

.NET deployment is actually very easy. You just include the binaries from your application and copy them to a folder on your target computer. By "binaries" I mean what your project is compiling (yourapp.exe) and any non-System assembly references.

So for instance, your project creates yourapp.exe and references SyntaxEditor. You would copy yourapp.exe, ActiproSoftware.SyntaxEditor.dll, ActiproSoftware.WinUICore.dll, and ActiproSoftware.Shared.dll to a folder on the target computer. That's basically it.

All the paths to where our assemblies are installed on your computer, are specified in the SyntaxEditor readme file.

Actipro Software Support