Custom form / intellisense

SyntaxEditor for Windows Forms Forum

Posted 20 years ago by Sealed_Class_Singleton
Hi,

I'm a newbie to SyntaxEditor and I was wondering if it is possible to display a custom dialog box / form as a response to certain keystrokes (/trigger) instead of giving some intellisense depending on the current state. When the form is closed the constructed text (depending on the answers) could be sended back to the document using insertext.

It is possible and if it is, what is the easiest way to do this ?

BTW do you have an example of an intellisense with more than one attribute and why aren't the tags closed in your example app ?

Thx in advance.

Comments (3)

Posted 20 years ago by Actipro Software Support - Cleveland, OH, USA
Our control provides all the user interface components that you need to create IntelliSense but we do not have code to populate the lists. We provide some handy helper methods however really leave it to you to design how to populate them. The reason is that any language can be designed using SyntaxEditor so we have to remain open-ended.

The sample application does show the use of triggers. Look at the editor_Trigger event. You can create a trigger and display a form there I would imagine.

You'd have to write code to close the tags yourself. We have done this without too much trouble in an application that we wrote for another client using SyntaxEditor. You basically use a TokenStream, scan backwards to find the start tag's name and then insert the end tag at the current offset.

Actipro Software Support

Posted 20 years ago by Sealed_Class_Singleton
Thx for our quick reply.

Do you have any example of how to find the complete tag (e.g. <a href="foo">text</a> ) whenever I'm somewhere in the string (eg mouseclick or something like that)

In your examples of for instance the HTML languagge you've got some "StartTag" and "EndTag" but they are not associated...