Programmatically Wrap Floated DocumentWindow in new Window (à la Chrome)

Docking/MDI for WPF Forum

Posted 10 years ago by Michael Jelley
Version: 13.2.0592

Hello,

I'm rather new to this product, so this may already be answered, or trivial to implement. I searched this forum and looked through the docs, and didn't find any related topics.

I want to implement Chrome-like behavior for floating tabs, where a floated DocumentWindow is instantly placed within a new window containing a DockSite (the same type that contained the DocumentWindow initially). I tried deriving from DockSite and overriding CreateRaftingWindow, but from there was unable to determine the correct way to:

a) Create a new owning window (let's call this type MainWindow)
b) Link the docksite in the new window to the docksite in the existing window (so tabs can be dragged freely between MainWindow instances). I do have access to the DockSite instance inside MainWindow, it's named "dockSite".
c) Add the floated DocumentWindow to the docksite of the new MainWindow instance
d) Dock the floated DocumentWindow to that docksite

I'm not even sure if those steps are the best way to achieve the desired effect (again, Chrome-like behavior). Does anyone have ideas for how to do this?

Thanks,
Michael

Comments (3)

Posted 10 years ago by Actipro Software Support - Cleveland, OH, USA

Hi Michael,

We don't currently support a full DockSite sort of interface (with MDI, etc.) when a document window is floated.  Right now, a floated document window is standalone and can't be docked with other document windows.  It looks like you are trying to work around the current limitations in that area to build in functionality where you manually create a new DockSite, link them together, and then show the document window there.

CreateRaftingWindow just makes a generic RaftingWindow container.  It's also used for tool windows so it might not be a good place to hook in.