"Unable to start debugging" (Silverlight Trial VS2013)

Silverlight Studio and Shared Library for Silverlight Forum

Posted 10 years ago by Nathaniel Armer
Version: 14.1.0172
Platform: Silverlight 5

Hi There,

Recently found out about your tools and wanted to check 'em out.  As such I downloaded the latest silverlight toolkit and opened up the C# solution.  However, when I hit debug it gives me a very annoying message:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/1pmz26suol7y71e/Screenshot%202014-07-28%2013.58.33.png

At least I get to see what your support is like :)

I'm running Win7 (in parallels), VS2013.  I have uninstalled everything relating to Silverlight and then installed the developer tools (x64), sdk and toolkit for SL5.  I am new to Silverlight, but have VS and WPF experiance.

Thanks!

Comments (3)

Posted 10 years ago by Actipro Software Support - Cleveland, OH, USA

Hi Nathaniel,

Thanks for evaluating our controls.  I'm sorry you are having problems.  From what you show in the screenshot, it appears that it's something that is wrong with your Silverlight SDK in general and nothing specifically related to our products.

I did some searching on the web and found these posts, which seem like they might be similar to your scenario.  Can you try out some of the steps they mention there as answers and see if it helps?  Please let us know.

http://social.msdn.microsoft.com/Forums/silverlight/en-US/4cf10a81-d129-47ab-b88c-c08fb8a2d1d1/cannot-debug-silverlight-project-after-windows-81-update?forum=silverlightstart

http://stackoverflow.com/questions/14964822/visual-studio-keep-asking-to-install-latest-silverlight-developer-runtime-when

Actipro Software Support

Posted 10 years ago by Nathaniel Armer

TL;DR Solved - Mostly a VS issue.

Thanks for your quick reply, your links were informative.  However after following them I failed to see any improvement.