How to change width of digital gauge segments

Gauge for WPF Forum

Posted 9 years ago by David
Version: 14.2.0611

Hi,

We need the segments in a 7/14-segment WPF digital gauge to be slightly wider than they are by default. Is there any property or method (or workaround) to change the segment width without changing the digit size? Could it be done with a control template? (Please bear in mind that I'm new to WPF, so I might be overlooking some obvious option...)

Thanks in advance,

David

[Modified 9 years ago]

Comments (4)

Posted 9 years ago by Actipro Software Support - Cleveland, OH, USA

Hi David,

Check out the Digital Gauge Characters QuickStart in the Sample Browser.  That shows you the various properties you can modify, such as the character height and then the character width ratio.  With those, you can adjust the sizing however you need.

Actipro Software Support

Hi,

Thanks for your kind reply. I was aware of those properties and the way they affect the characters's aspect ratio, but unless I'm missing something, they do not seem to allow us do what we need, namely, to vary the segments width without changing the character's aspect ratio.

To be more specific, I need the aspect ratio to be exactly 0.5 but with wider (thicker) segments. If I change the character's height/width, the segment's widths scale as well, and they end up being as thin as they were (in proportion to character size) before the change. It seems that the segment width is fixed and equal to a percentage of the character's overall width or height (or a function of the latter two). So my question is about the possibility of changing that percentage. Do you think that can be done the control's accessible properties?

Best Regards,

David

[Modified 9 years ago]

Answer - Posted 9 years ago by Actipro Software Support - Cleveland, OH, USA

Hi David,