Coloring of text without parsing

SyntaxEditor for Windows Forms Forum

Posted 16 years ago by Disha Gosalia
Version: 4.0.0275
I am new to SyntaxEditor. I have a parser that I have been using with my language. I am going to invoke this any time an edit is made to the document, and it will return me with color for each (index, length) pair in the document. How do I use this information to syntax color my document in SyntaxEditor

Thanks

Comments (5)

Posted 16 years ago by Actipro Software Support - Cleveland, OH, USA
Sorry that isn't possible right now. Our product supports creation of custom programmatic lexical parsers though. Perhaps you could tie into that.

That being said, we are looking at a way to do your request in the future.

Actipro Software Support

The parser is written in antlr. Its being in production for more than 5 years and has gone through multiple development cycles. Is there a way to generate the grammar for the SyntaxEditor from the grammar file used by antlr (.g file)? I can imagine a lot of
grammars are written .g format of antlr. Antlr's being around for a long time and a lot of grammars already exisit

If not, isn't it that under-the-hood somewhere you are using the color scheme specified by your grammar file to color individual tokens. Could this not be exposed out? That way, I can use the information from my parser to colorize individual tokens.

I am going to embed this SyntaxEditor into our application that has a very sophisticated event manager. It can watch for edits and keypresses. So, the only thing I need is a way to colorize individual tokens - in the meantime - until .g grammar can be converted over.