Setting Property Editor at Runtime

Grids for WPF Forum

Posted 15 years ago by United Biosource - United Biosource
Version: 4.5.0486
I have a property grid that needs to bind to different objects at runtime - so I can't use xaml to create the PropertyEditors at design time. Your sample app uses only xaml - do you have an example of how to:

1. Create a Property Editor Value Template that can be referenced in code
2. How to bind that template to a selected property at runtime

Thanks

p.s., I am very new to this and just starting an evaluation, so if you could be as explicit as possible in your answer, that would be most appreciated.

Comments (5)

Posted 15 years ago by Actipro Software Support - Cleveland, OH, USA
Hi Sydney,

We don't currently have an example, but it is on the TODO list. You can define and associated editors dynamically, but the approach differs depending on how you are using the PropertyGrid.

This forum post describes how to build a property editor (in the form of a DataTemplate) in code using a FrameworkElementFactory. Associating that editor with one or more properties is the part that really varies:

1. If using SelectedObject(s), you can statically decorate your properties with an EditorAttribute.
2. If using SelectedObject(s), you can implement ICustomTypeDescriptor on your object and dynamically generate an EditorAttribute for a property.
3. If using a PropertyGridPropertyItem, then you can simply assign the PropertyGridPropertyItem.ValueTemplate.
4. You can associate your editor with any property that matches a given name, type, or both using PropertyGrid.PropertyEditors (per instance) or BuiltinEditors.PropertyEditors (global for all PropertyGrids).

Let us know if you need more information in one of these areas.

Actipro Software Support

Thanks, yes, I could use a little more information on how to create a FrameworkElementFactory (is there an example of that? I searched the Sample solution and the Help file . . .).