MaskedTextBox Mask Question

Editors for WPF Forum

Posted 15 years ago by David Mullin
I've set the Mask property of a MaskedTextBox to be ".........", which works as expected. There is an odd visual behavior that I'd like to address (if possible). If the field is empty, and I click near the right side of the field, the caret is positioned at the end of the mask - making it look like there are 10 blank characters in the field. If I start typing, the caret then jumps to the beginning of the field, and everything behaves normally.

I tried to address this through the Mask, by providing a Mask of ".?.?.?.?.?.?.?.?.?.?" which, I thought, would say "ten optional characters". The end results, however, was a field that rejected all user input (not really what I expected, but I'm an extreme novice at RegEx).

I also tried the Mask of ".{1,10}", and this looked better (in that there only appeared to be 1 blank space at the beginning). Oddly, the Mask ".{0,10}" wouldn't let me type anything.

What am I missing?

David Mullin

[Modified at 06/11/2009 11:29 AM]

Comments (5)

Posted 15 years ago by Actipro Software Support - Cleveland, OH, USA
Hi David,

There appears to be an bug in MaskedTextBox when using {0,x}, I will let you know when I have this fixed. I will also look at the caret placement on the initial click.

When your mask is "..........", then you are saying there must be 10 characters, no more no less. So the MaskedTextBox will show 10 prompt characters or geometeries (depending on your settings) to indicate more input is required.

What are your requirements for the mask? Is it up to 10 characters, or 10 exactly?

Actipro Software Support

I want up to 10 characters, so the {0,x} bug fix will give me what I want. Thanks!