Loading Ribbon Theme from seperate XAML File

Ribbon for WPF Forum

Posted 14 years ago by Doraiswamy
Version: 10.1.0521
Hi,

I have two questions and i am new to XAML.

1. How to load the built in theme from seperate XAML file - for Ex. "Office2007Black"
i could able to do it in code behind file using ThemeManager.CurrentTheme = CommonThemeName.Office2007Black. But i want to know whether the above is possible.

2. I could able to tint the color from a existing theme.But can i design a complete new theme and load from seperate XAMl file.If so kindly let me know with an example.

And for Docking control i could easily load from seperate xaml getgin its path using locationuri and load resources.

Regards,
Balaji

Comments (5)

Posted 14 years ago by Actipro Software Support - Cleveland, OH, USA
Hello,

1. You can't set the ThemeManager.CurrentTheme property from XAML, as XAML doesn't support that.

2. You can certainly build your own custom themes, but it's generally not a trivial task. In addition, any customizations you would make in the Ribbon product would not be reflected in any other WPF controls (native or Actipro). Our Sample Browser includes a simple example under the Shared Library section, titled "Using ThemeManager w/Custom Control". The same concepts apply to our WPF controls.

In addition, you could take the Ribbon XAML files and use them as a basis, which makes it easier to tweak just a few things. Finally, you can also just customize the brushes used by Ribbon, instead of trying to do a full theme. Using the Theme Browser in our Sample Browser under the General section, you can view/copy all the brushes used by Ribbon for the various themes.

3. You can perform the same operations for Docking & MDI, but again building a full theme isn't trivial.

Actipro Software Support

Thank you for valuable suggestions.
Can you please let me know the path where i could find the Ribbon XAML files.

Regards,
G.Doraiswamy
Hello,