Posted 13 years ago by Andre
Version: 11.1.0112
I am using the SyntaxEditor DotNet addon for Silverlight.
A lot of the code samples/documentation seem to have a slight towards WPF? (I'm guessing that the WPF version was written first, then ported to SL?)

In any case, I am kind of new to actipro and Silverlight.
What I want to know is, when I add
assem.AssemblyReferences.AddMsCorLib()
what version am I adding? .NET 2?, .NET4? Silverlight 4? SL 3?

I'm not an expert, but I think the classes available vary between the different versions.
Next, when running the code
assem.AssemblyReferences.Add("System.Core")
and this run from inside a xap in a browser, where does it get this from? Is it the reference inside of the xap?

Finally, the end goal is to be able to edit an asp.NET UserControl, both the ascx and a code behind. I want to be able to reference asp.net System.Web.UI.UserControl, NOT (System.Windows.Controls.UserControl, i.e. silverlight UC). In addition, we have a .NET4 assembly we'd also like to have intellisense for. How should that get added?

The main issue I suppose, is, in a silverlight browser app, I want intellisense, for .net4 asp.net.

Thanks

Comments (5)

Posted 13 years ago by Actipro Software Support - Cleveland, OH, USA
Hi Andre,

Both the WPF and Silverlight versions are being written at the same time and they do share a codebase. The .NET Languages Add-on in both platforms are nearly identical other than a couple subtle framework things that aren't supported in Silverlight.

The methods like AddMsCorLib and Add("System.Core") will load those assemblies for the currently executing platform. Meaning if you are running this in Silverlight, it will try and load the Silverlight version of those. Silverlight is more constrained than WPF because Silverlight can only load assemblies that are already loaded in the XAP. WPF can try to resolve and look for assemblies in the GAC and other places.