Intellisense and Method Tips for lisp?

SyntaxEditor for Windows Forms Forum

Posted 19 years ago by Chris Sells
I'd like to use SyntaxEditor to build intellisense and method tips for a lisp dialect, e.g. pop up possible method names when an open paren is typed and then show the needed parameters when a space is typed after a method name. I'm completely new to SyntaxEditor; how do I get started? Thanks!

Chris Sells
http://sellsbrothers.com

Comments (8)

Posted 19 years ago by Actipro Software Support - Cleveland, OH, USA
Hi Chris,

That's easy to do. You want to set up KeyPressTriggers for the "(" and " " characters.

Take a look at our C# language sample. It makes triggers for "." and "<". You want to do the same thing except for your characters and you have to determine what lexical state they are valid in.

After you do that, the SyntaxEditor.Trigger event will fire whenever those keys are pressed while within that lexical state and you can display your member lists. Our sample project shows this in the "editor_Trigger" event.

Actipro Software Support

the single sample is enormous! I can't tell how much of it I need to do. is there something simpler? a "hello, syntaxeditor" sample?
For making a simple member list with items you just want to populate yourself, go to the "editor_Trigger" event handler and search for the "XMLCommentTagListTrigger" case statement. Within the case statement code is the barebones sample of populating and showing a member list.

It's more or less just this...
1) Set an imagelist
2) Clear the list of items
3) Add your items
4) Show the list

Actipro Software Support

I'm trying to set up a language file, but when I feed it the following file, it gives me a NullReferenceException (below):
<!-- lisp.xml -->
<SyntaxLanguage Key="lisp" LanguageDefinitionVersion="3.0" Secure="False" xmlns="http://ActiproSoftware/SyntaxEditor/3.0/LanguageDefinition">
    <!-- Triggers -->
    <Triggers>