Reload previously-open documents does not appear to be working

Code Writer App Suggestions and Support Forum

The latest build of this product (v4.2.42) was released 3 years ago, which was before this thread was created.
Posted 1 year ago by Martin - London
Version: 4.2.42

Hi Actipro Support Team,

I have been using Actipro Code Writer for a while (several years) however I recently re-installed it following a clean install of Windows 11 on my laptop and the newly-installed version no longer seems to be "reload[ing] previously-open documents", despite having that setting enabled.

Are you able to advise on this please? (Please let me know if I can provide any further info / diagnostic logs, etc).

Thanks,
Martin

NOTE: I was unable to set the [Platform version] or [Environment] in the ticket details (both dropdowns had no options to select) but please note the issue occured on Windows 11 (Pro) 22H2 build 22621.1413. Thanks 👍🏼

Dabbler developer, most likely found bashing my head against a wall trying to mess around with Microsoft 365, SharePoint, PowerShell, VBA, CMD, JavaScript, CSS, XML, JSON, AutoHotKey, RegEdit, NirSoft

Comments (3)

Posted 1 year ago by Actipro Software Support - Cleveland, OH, USA

Hi Martin,

Thanks for reporting this.  We are seeing the same and after debugging it, it seems that the code we have to persist open documents on app close is running.  But when it gets to a place where it tries to create a folder to save unsaved document text, it does a StorageFolder.GetOrCreateFolderAsync call and the app immediately exits.  I don't see any exception listed in the debug output from VS, and nothing shows up in the Windows Event Viewer, so at a first glance, I'm not sure what is suddenly causing this problem in Windows 11 or what the problem even is.  We will investigate more.

Actipro Software Support

Answer - Posted 1 year ago by Actipro Software Support - Cleveland, OH, USA

Hi Martin,