Newbie question. Customizing property view

Grids for WPF Forum

Posted 14 years ago by joe sweeney - Technology Officer, TyTags Australia
Version: 10.1.0523
Hi, I've been reading through the PropGrid manual and demos, but am stuck with what is almost certainly a total newbie issue.

I am trying to customize the categories, properties displayed and property editors in XAML, with a PropertyGrid whose SelectedObjects is set to an ArrayList of objects (all of type Person).

The following XAML is used to define the grid in the main window:
<propgrid:PropertyGrid Grid.Column="1" Name="PropertyGrid1"
VerticalAlignment="Stretch" HorizontalAlignment="Stretch" >

<propgrid:PropertyGrid.Items>
<propgrid:PropertyGridPropertyItem DisplayName="First Name"
ValueName="FirstName" Description="First name goes here." AllowDrop="True" />
<propgrid:PropertyGridPropertyItem DisplayName="Last Name" ValueName="LasttName"
Description="Family name goes here." />
</propgrid:PropertyGrid.Items>
</propgrid:PropertyGrid>

In the following code is used in the main windows code behind.

' Load in some sample data to the bridge, with just the first and last items being person.selected =true.
    ' assign the propertygrid1's selectedobjects to mybridge (which calls the bridge class' customer ienumerator
    Private Sub Window_Loaded(ByVal sender As System.Object, ByVal e As System.Windows.RoutedEventArgs) Handles MyBase.Loaded

myBridge.ActiveList.Add(New Person("Magnus", "Devine", "1234567", Now(), "Initial Data", True))
        myBridge.ActiveList.Add(New Person("Joe", "Sweeney", "0249705842", Now(), "First example", False))
        myBridge.ActiveList.Add(New Person("Frank", "Ferlon", "0345454322", Now(), "Second example", False))
        myBridge.ActiveList.Add(New Person("Roy", "Turnbel", ")834324224", Now(), "Third example", False))
        myBridge.ActiveList.Add(New Person("Cindy", "Sweeney", "0189193413", Now(), "Forth example", True))
        PropertyGrid1.SelectedObjects = myBridge